HEDGE END TOWN COUNCIL – MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD 17 MAY 2023

Cllrs. Present: Cllr Maggie Allingham, Cllr Paul Carnell, Cllr Helen Corben, Cllr Ian Corben, Cllr Cynthia Garton, Cllr Leigh Hadaway, Cllr John Jupe, Cllr Lucy Jurd, Cllr Dave Kinloch, Cllr Jim Mitchell, Cllr Cliff Morris (Retiring Chair), Cllr Ron Nichols, Cllr Derek Pretty, Cllr John Shepherd (Chair), Cllr Jane Welsh

Councillor Cliff Morris opened the meeting and welcomed everyone.

In Attendance: Recipients and guests of Cllr Long Service Award

1. Election of Chair

The Retiring Chair sought nominations for the Chair of the Town Council. It was proposed by Cllr Derek Pretty seconded by Cllr Paul Carnell and unanimously agreed to elect Cllr John Shepherd as Chair of the Town Council for the Municipal Year 2023/2024. Motion Carried.

RESOLVED: That Cllr John Shepherd be elected as Chair of the Hedge End Town Council for the Municipal Year 2023/2024.

After the formal inauguration process, Cllr John Shepherd signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Chair and thanked all present and gave an acceptance speech.

2. Election of Vice-Chair

It was proposed by Cllr Derek Pretty seconded by Cllr Ian Corben and unanimously agreed to elect Cllr Jim Mitchell as Vice-Chair of the Town Council for the Municipal Year 2023/2024. Motion Carried.

RESOLVED: That CIIr Jim Mitchell be elected as Vice-Chair of the Town Council for the Municipal Year 2023/2024.

- **3. Apologies:** Cllr Tonia Craig, Cllr Keith House
- 4. Public Questions not on the Agenda
- 5. Declarations of Interest

None recorded.

6. Councillor Long Service Awards

Sheila Baynes and Shankerlal Sthanakiya were presented with Councillor Long Service Awards having each served a minimum of twelve years on the Council. Citations for each of the past Councillors were read and awards given. Sheila gave

HEDGE END TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD 17 MAY 2023 -Cont'd Page 2

an acceptance speech 'I was surprised that it had been so many years and at times it was a bumpy ride but wanted to thank everyone for being such good colleagues.'

Stan thanked everyone very much.

- 7. To appoint and elect Committees as appropriate and elect a Chair and Vice-Chair to hold office until the Annual General Meeting of May 2024
 - a. Recreation and Amenities Committee

Chair: Cllr Jane Welsh Vice-Chair: Cllr Maggie Allingham

Membership:

Cllr Maggie Allingham, Cllr Paul Carnell, Cllr Leigh Hadaway, Cllr John Jupe, Cllr Lucy Jurd, Cllr David Kinloch, Cllr Cliff Morris, Cllr Derek Pretty, Cllr Jane Welsh.

b. Policy & Resources Committee

Chair: Cllr Derek Pretty Vice-Chair: Cllr Cliff Morris

Membership:

Cllr Margaret Allingham, Cllr Ian Corben, Cllr Keith House, Cllr Jim Mitchell, Cllr John Shepherd, Cllr Cliff Morris, Cllr Derek Pretty, Cllr Jane Welsh

c. Highways and Planning Committee

Chair: Cllr Paul Carnell Vice-Chair: Cllr John Jupe

Membership:

Cllr Paul Carnell, Cllr Ian Corben, Cllr Cynthia Garton, Cllr John Jupe, Cllr Lucy Jurd, Cllr Ron Nichols, Cllr Derek Pretty, Cllr John Shepherd.

e. Personnel Sub-Committee of Policy & Resources Committee

Chair: Cllr Keith House Vice-Chair: Cllr Cynthia Garton

Membership:

Cllr Margaret Allingham, Cllr Ian Corben, Cllr Cynthia Garton, Cllr Keith House, Cllr Derek Pretty, Cllr Jane Welsh

f. Strategy Committee

Chair: Cllr Keith House Vice-Chair: Cllr John Shepherd

Membership

All Councillors.

RESOLVED: That the committees be elected as stated to hold office until the Annual General Meeting of May 2024 coupled with the appointment of representatives to outside bodies.

HEDGE END TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD 17 MAY 2023 -Cont'd Page 3

8. Appointment of representatives to outside bodies

a. Ageas Bowl Liaison Committee

Cllr Cynthia Garton, Cllr John Jupe, Cllr David Kinloch

b. Village Hall Management Committee

Cllr Helen Corben

c. HEWEB Youth Partnership

Cllr Lucy Jurd

d. EDALC (Eastleigh District Association of Local Councils)

Cllr Cliff Morris

e. Wildern Community Management Committee will now be renamed to include Deer Park

Cllr Cynthia Garton

f. Gazette Editorial Board

Cllr Margaret Allingham, Cllr Ian Corben, Cllr Keith House, Cllr Jim Mitchell, Cllr John Jupe, Cllr Jane Welsh

9. To Review and Adopt Standing Orders

Councillors reviewed the standing orders last reviewed and adopted December 2022. It was proposed by Cllr Derek Pretty and seconded by Cllr lan Corben to adopt these as they were reviewed recently. **RESOLVED: Cllrs agreed to adopt the standing orders which will be reviewed at the next Annual Meeting of the Council or earlier as deemed necessary.**

10. To Review and Adopt Financial Regulations

Councillors reviewed the financial regulations last reviewed and adopted December 2022. It was proposed by Cllr Ian Corben and seconded by Cllr Derek Pretty to adopt these as they were reviewed recently. **RESOLVED: Cllrs agreed to adopt the financial regulations which will be reviewed at the next Annual Meeting of the Council or earlier as deemed necessary.**

11. To Review and Adopt Scheme of Delegation

Councillors reviewed the scheme of delegation last reviewed and adopted December 2022. It was proposed by Cllr Jim Mitchell and seconded by Cllr Cliff Morris to adopt these as they were reviewed recently. **RESOLVED: Cllrs agreed to adopt the scheme of delegation which will be reviewed at the next Annual Meeting of the Council or earlier as deemed necessary.**

HEDGE END TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD 17 MAY 2023 -Cont'd Page 4

12. To Review the General Power of Competence Eligibility.

Councillors reviewed the general power of competence eligibility. RESOLVED: The Town Council resolves that from the 17 May 2023 until the next relevant Annual Meeting of the Council, that having met the conditions of eligibility as defined by the Localism Act 2011 and SI965 The Parish Councils (General Power of Competence) (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012, to adopt the General Power of Competence.

13. To confirm dates and times of ordinary meetings of the Town Council for the ensuing municipal year

It was felt that ordinary Full Council meetings of the Town Council should continue on a monthly basis at the normal starting time and the committees to meet as previously prescribed.

RESOLVED: That ordinary Full Council meetings continue on a monthly basis and all other committee meetings to continue as previously prescribed.

There being no further business to transact, the Chair closed the meeting at 19:48 hours.