HEDGE END TOWN COUNCIL – MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD 15 MAY 2019

Clirs. Present: Clir. Paul Carnell, Clir. Helen Corben, Clir. Ian Corben (Retiring Chair) Clir Tonia Craig, Clir. Cynthia Garton, Clir. John Jupe, Clir Lucy Jurd, Clir Rupert Kyrle, Clir Cliff Morris, Clir Ron Nichols, Clir Derek Pretty, Clir Anne Small, Clir Ben Thomas, Clir. Jane Welsh, Clir Geoffrey Westgarth

Councillor Ian Corben opened the meeting and welcomed the new councillors and thanked past councillors for their contribution.

1. Apologies

Cllr Maggie Allingham, Cllr George Brown, Cllr. Keith House, Cllr Pat Jenkins

2. Election of Chair

The Town Clerk sought nominations for the Chair of the Town Council. It was Proposed by Cllr Cliff Morris, Seconded by Cllr Paul Carnell and unanimously agreed to elect Cllr Lucy Jurd as Chair of the Town Council for the Municipal Year 2019/2020. Motion Carried.

RESOLVED

That Cllr Lucy Jurd be elected as Chair of the Hedge End Town Council for the Municipal Year 2019/2020.

After the formal inauguration process, Cllr Lucy Jurd signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Chair and thanked all present and gave an acceptance speech.

3. Election of Vice-Chair

It was Proposed by Cllr Paul Carnell, Seconded by Cllr Cliff Morris and unanimously agreed to elect Cllr John Jupe as Vice-Chair of the Town Council for the Municipal Year 2019/2020. Motion Carried.

RESOLVED

That Cllr John Jupe be elected as Vice-Chair of the Town Council for the Municipal Year 2019/2020.

- 4. Public Questions not on the Agenda None recorded.
- 5. Declarations of Interest None recorded.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 15 MAY 2019 – MINUTES – Cont'd Page 2

6. To appoint and elect Committees as appropriate and elect a Chair and Vice-Chair to hold office until the Annual General Meeting of May 2020

a. Recreation and Amenities Committee Chair: Cllr Jane Welsh Vice-Chair: Cllr Cliff Morris

Membership:

Cllr Margaret Allingham, Cllr Paul Carnell, Cllr John Jupe, Cllr David Kinloch, Cllr Cliff Morris, Cllr Derek Pretty, Cllr Anne Small, Cllr Ben Thomas, Cllr Jane Welsh.

b. Finance and Administration Committee renamed to Policy & Resources

Chair: Cllr Derek Pretty Membership: Vice-Chair: Cllr Jim Mitchell

Cllr Margaret Allingham, Cllr Ian Corben, Cllr Keith House, Cllr. Jim Mitchell Cllr Cliff Morris, Cllr Derek Pretty, Cllr Jane Welsh, Cllr Geoffrey Westgarth

c. Highways and Planning Committee

Chair: Cllr Paul Carnell Vice-Chair: Cllr John Jupe **Membership:**

Cllr George Brown, Cllr Paul Carnell, Cllr Helen Corben, Cllr Ian Corben, Cllr Cynthia Garton, Cllr John Jupe, Cllr Lucy Jurd, Cllr Ron Nichols

d. Community & Culture Committee now disbanded

e. Personnel Sub-Committee of Policy & Resources Committee

Chair: Cllr Keith House Vice-Chair: Cllr Cynthia Garton Membership: Cllr Margaret Allingham, Cllr Ian Corben, Cllr Cynthia Garton, Cllr Keith House, Cllr Derek Pretty, Cllr Cllr Jane Welsh

f. Strategy Committee

Chair: Cllr Keith House Vice-Chair: Cllr Lucy Jurd **Membership** All Councillors.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 15 MAY 2019 – MINUTES – Cont'd Page 3

It was Proposed by Cllr Ian Corben, Seconded by Cllr Cliff Morris and unanimously agreed to accept the appointment and election of the above committees as stated coupled with the appointment of representatives to outside bodies as a block. Motion Carried.

RESOLVED

That the committees be elected as stated to hold office until the Annual General Meeting of May 2020 coupled with the appointment of representatives to outside bodies as a lock.

7. Appointment of representatives to outside bodies

- *a.* Ageas Bowl Liaison Committee Cllr Cynthia Garton, Cllr John Jupe, Cllr David Kinloch
- b. Village Hall Management Committee Cllr Helen Corben
- c. HEWEB Youth Partnership Cllr Lucy Jurd
- d. Tree Warden Cllr Ron Nichols
- e. EDALC (Eastleigh District Association of Local Councils) Cllr Cliff Morris
- f. Wildern Community Management Committee Cllr Cynthia Garton
- *g. Gazette Editorial Board* Cllr Margaret Allingham. Cllr Keith House, Cllr Jim Mitchell, Cllr John Jupe, Cllr Jane Welsh

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 15 MAY 2019 – MINUTES – Cont'd Page 4

8. To confirm dates and times of ordinary meetings of the Town Council for the ensuing municipal year

It was felt that ordinary Full Council meetings of the Town Council should continue on a monthly basis at the normal starting time and the committees to meet as previously prescribed.

RESOLVED

That ordinary Full Council meetings continue on a monthly basis and all other committee meetings to continue as previously prescribed.

There being no further business to transact, the Chair closed the meeting at 19.38 hours.